Remember Me  
Chatbox
Please log in to join the chat!
Post Info TOPIC: Unemployment for Mooks

Seasoned Mookster

Date:
Unemployment for Mooks

Hello fellow mooks,

I wanted to have a post about unemployment. I have been unemployed for 2 months now, and it is the first time in my life I have been unemployed EVER. It sucks, and people assume you are a bum on benefits. I was let go on a Tuesday and by Thursday 4 people had made comments like 'how does it feel to be a fucking bum', and 'you're scrounging on the governments money now'. It really upset me, because I have  worked hard my whole life. I studied at college then university and had a full time job since I graduated which was 3 years ago. I worked and paid off my student overdraft which I am now proud of as I am debt free.

I want to study part time to qualify as a teacher. I also a dance class for 2 hours per week. Every day job hunting is relentless for me, I have been giving my best efforts.

Agencies are out for themselves, and more often than not remind me of the 2 characters in Neil Gaiman's neverwhere that go around in top hats and suits, one fat one slim, killing people for their pure own pleasure. It is probably an exaggeration, but they make you spend ages registering then call you about no jobs. Thier websites advertise less jobs than the shop windows which is absurd. So I have found myself looking in agency windows, taking photo's of the adverts then going home and applying for the jobs online. I am covering all bases by applying to agencies but I am getting nowhere.

I hand CV's into shops when adverts arise and there are xmas temp jobs around at the moment. Fingers crossed.Ho ho ho.

The whole thing gets me down because I am working so hard to get work to fund study and not a peep. I have friends I see weekly but I am out of the loop of society and to be honest feel a bit useless because at this time I am unable to contribute to keep the cogs of the world turning.