Password 
    Remember Me  
Chatbox
Please log in to join the chat!
Post Info TOPIC: Fieldwork blues..

Runic Mook of the North (mod)

Date:
Fieldwork blues..

So, I'm doing ethnographic fieldwork for my thesis, having just started my third week. Most of the time it is great fun, although I notice that constantly having to be aware of my surroundings and meeting and interacting with a whole lot of people is making me tired. And the organizing of data and writing a comprehensible diary is dreary work. But I've made sure to take little breaks, going for a solitary walk (in gorgeous surroundings btw), snuggling up in the cosy room I've rented here and watching a film, etc. So I have been ok. A little tendency to emotional roller coaster, swinging between being intensely happy and being worried and scared (I fear that I'm not really good at this kind of stuff, do I collect enough data, the right data and so on and so forth), but it's been acceptable.

Also, this kind of fieldwork should be really a walk in the park. I'm in absolutely lovely place, the people I study are resourceful people doing something they enjoy, plus everyone is very friendly towards me (I think a few might actually turn out to become friends). All in all I'm having an absolutely splendid time, so really, there shouldn't be a problem.

But today, after having had a great morning doing research and my usual lunch/emptying memorycards/writng up the morning's notes I felt a little bit tired but ready to go. Then, as I was back in the field and orientating myself it started to pour down and I forgot my umbrella. I got wet and cold and then I stepped on a wasp (I go barefoot) and got stung.