Password 
    Remember Me  
Chatbox
Please log in to join the chat!
Post Info TOPIC: Programming, Creative Tech and Jobs in that Sector

Mookish Deity Most High

Date:
Programming, Creative Tech and Jobs in that Sector

I've been planning on switching subjects at uni next semester.

Seeing as I want to do something that is scientific or technological, but still with applications and preferably a bit creative, I've mostly been looking at computer science and programming.

Is there anybody who had experience in this? What is it like to study, how much theory is it, etc.
How mathematical is it? (I'm currently studying college level-maths, and while I'm not exactly a prodigy, I do get by. I'm more mathematically inclined than the average person, anyway.)
How many creative things can you do with a degree like that, or similar?

And also, how many jobs that combine creativity, problem-solving preferably something artistic or design-wise, and tech or science are there? I might have missed something.
While I do still love physics and maths, which I'm studying now, it feels like too much theory and not learning enough things that I can make use of and a future in this would mean I don't get to be creative enough (stuff like experiment seminars and labs are a lot of fun, however. Trying to remember formulas for solving calculations that are only used for even more abstract calculations, isn't. I want to feel like I produce something, like what I do amounts to something tangible.)

Um yeah, I'm unsure if I phrased all this correctly. But you get the gist of what I'm trying to say, I hope. Will anyone help me with this problem in deciding on my future? smile

Mookish Deity Most High

Date:

Hey I can't answer this but my boyfriend studies that sort of thing so if you want I'll get him to put a response here or chat to you on Steam so you can ask him a bunch of stuff on there.

Mookish Deity Most High

Date: