Password 
    Remember Me  
Chatbox
Please log in to join the chat!
Post Info TOPIC: Thesis woes

Mookish Deity Most High

Date:
Thesis woes

I was going to put this the critiquing thread, but decided against it as it will just result in me hijacking that thread. 

So Mooks, I'm in my final year of my undergrad degree. I have to write a thesis. I HAVE NO FUCKING CLUE HOW TO WRITE A THESIS. I study biomedical science, and all through the course there was very little emphasis put on academic writing. Lab reports yes, but they're quite different and less formal. I've done a couple of essays, but the largest one I've ever done was 2,000 words and I managed to fuck it up because I hadn't a clue what I was doing. 

My thesis has to be 5,000 words, and I know that isn't much as far as that kind of work goes. I know come the end of it I'll be cursing the word count, wishing it was more. But for now I have no idea what to do, or where to start. I know a little bit- I know how to do my references and reference list, I know how to search for papers (kind of- I get the feeling I'm doing it a bit wrong or longwinded though). I feel so ill-equipped though, and the more I think about it, the more overwhelmed I get and the more I want to run away and cry.

My supervisor is USELESS, and I mean USELESS. I arranged to see him once last semester, and for the 10 minutes I was in his office he mumbled to the ground and I could hardly hear what he was saying (it's the same when he lectures by the way). I know I have to meet with him, but I'm extremely reluctant to because well... what's the point? I won't meet with him at least until I have a rough draft of what I'm going to actually write in my thesis.